Dr. Ann Millner: A Leader in our State

Ann's Senate photo.jpeg

Dr  F. Ann Millner serves as the State Senator for District 18. She is Chair of the Education Standing Committee and serves on the Economic Development & Workforce Services Committee as well as the Higher Education and Public Education Appropriations Committees.  She has sponsored legislation focused on economic development specifically related to commercialization of new technologies and workforce preparation, public and higher education and victim’s rights. Last year she sponsored a Utah Constitutional amendment, approved by the citizens of the state, to ensure prudent investment of the funds in the Permanent School Fund and increase the annual distribution of funds to our schools.

She is a Regents Professor of Health Administration and Former President at Weber State University in Ogden, Utah. Under Dr. Millner’s leadership as president from 2002 to 2012, Weber State became a multi-campus institution, experienced nearly a 40 percent increase in enrollment, initiated a major facilities revitalization effort, expanded its network of community partnerships, launched WSU-Davis, emerged as a regional center for economic development and earned national recognition for its undergraduate research and community-based learning initiatives.

Dr. Millner currently serves on the Board of Trustees for Intermountain Healthcare, the Board of Directors for Merit Medical and the Advisory Board for Zions Bank. In addition, she is Chair of Ogden United, and a member of the Advisory Board for the Kem Gardner Policy Institute at the University of Utah, and the Governor’s Task Force on Educational Excellence.

Current Boards

  • Advisory Board, Kem C. Gardner Policy Institute
  • Member, Governor's Education Excellence Commission
  • Board of Trustees, Intermountain Healthcare
  • Board of Directors, Merit Medical
  • Board of Directors, Zions Bank
  • Co-Chair, Ogden United

Past Community Involvement

  • Board of Directors, Utah Campus Compact
  • National College Athletic Association, Executive Committee,  Division I Board of Directors, and Chair of the Finance Committee
  • Council of State Representatives of the American Association of State Colleges and Universities
  • Executive Committee of the Coalition of Urban and Metropolitan Universities
  • Executive Advisory Council of SunGard SCT
  • Boards of Directors, Ogden/Weber Chamber of Commerce 
  • Boards of Directors the Weber Economic Development Corporation
  • Boards of Directors, Wells Fargo Community Board
  • Boards of Directors, Utah Defense Alliance
  • Boards of Directors, Utah Technology Council
  • Boards of Directors, Utah Foundation
  • Boards of Directors, Economic Development Corporation of Utah
  • Board Member, Visitors of the Air University of the U.S. Air Force
  • Board of Trustees, Utah Foundation


  • BS – University of Tennessee
  • MT – Vanderbilit University
  • MS – Texas State University
  • EdD – Brigham Young University

Honorary Degrees

  • Dixie State University (2013)
  • Weber State University (2014)


  • Women’s Leadership Award, Sundance Film Festival (2018)

  • Legislator of the Year, Utah Technology Council (2017)

  • Community Advocate Award Davis Technical College (2017)

  • Change Maker Award, United Way of Salt Lake City (2017)

  • Legislative Appreciation Award, BioUtah (2017)

  • Urban Trustee of the Year, Utah Hospital Association (2016)

  • Community Service Award, United Way Ogden/Weber (2016)

  • Commander’s Public Service Medal, USAF Air University (2015)

  • Women in History Award, Daughters of the American Revolution Gold Spike Chapter (2015)

  • Legislator of the Year, Utah Technology Council (2015)

  • Wall of Fame Award from the Ogden/Weber Chamber of Commerce (2013).
  • “People of Vision” Award from the Utah Chapter of Friends for Sight (2012)
  • Service Above Self Award from the Ogden Rotary (2012)Degrees
  • Transforming Communities Award from the Utah Commission of Service and Volunteers (2012)
  • The Renaissance Woman Award (2007)
  • “Women to Watch” Citation from Utah Business Magazine (2005)
  • International Futures Award from the University Continuing Education Association (2003)
  • Crystal Crest Award from the WSU Student Association (2002)
  • Distinguished Service Award from the WSU Alumni Association (1996)
  • Athena Award for Outstanding Professional Woman from the Ogden/Weber Chamber of Commerce (1992)